Feyenoord slipped past Vitesse into the next round of the Amstel Cup Wednesday evening with a one-nil win at De Kuip. The game’s only goal came from the Dancer – Anthony Lurling – who beat half a team before netting in the first half. Bert van Marwijk brought on Ebi Smolarek in the closing stages, as the Polish international completed his comeback after a monumental period on the sidelines due to injury.

The first serious opportunity fell to Feyenoord after sixteen minutes. Cornelisse was so kind to pass the ball to Thomas Buffel, who made a beeline for the visitors’ goal. But with only the goalie to beat the Belgian choked, failing to get the ball past Van Fessum. Feyenoord were finding it hard against the Eredivisie relegation candidates, but Vitesse were hardly any more dynamic. Schreuder and Ono were finding things tough going in midfield, but the best opportunities still came the way of the Rotterdammers. Kuyt was very close to opening the scoring, with a header from a Van Persie corner, but the ball landed on the top of the bar. But Feyenoord did grab the opener soon after, thanks to Anthony Lurling, who danced past four men, before poking the ball past the keeper to give Feyenoord the lead on 36 minutes. Feyenoord managed to menace Van Feesum’s goal more in the second half. Van Perise in particular continued to look for ways to double the home side’s lead. The best chances early on fell to Ono though, who couldn’t convert. Kuyt had a go too, but the lead remained slender. Ebi Smolarek came on for the goalscorer Lurling late on, but he couldn’t cap his Kuip comeback with a goal. Indeed it was Vitesse that almost scored at the death, when substitute Rojer looked like leveling from yards out, but Patrick Lodewijks protected his side’s lead as Feyenoord progressed to the next round. Feyenoord-Vitesse 1-0 (1-0) 36’ 1-0 Lurling Feyenoord: Lodewijks; Swerts, Van Wonderen, Gyan, Snoyl; Lurling (84’ Smolarek), Schreuder, Ono, Van Persie; Buffel, Kuyt. Vitesse: Van Fessem; Cornelisse, Konterman, Dingsdag, Fränkel ; Hofs, Rankovic, Claessens, Zongo (58’ Fafiani) ; Van Beukering, Mbamba (66’ Rojer). Referee: D. Jol
Feyenoord Business CLub