An ad-hoc formation did the job it was set Sunday as Feyenoord fired off a three-nil win at FC Zwolle in the Eredivisie. The Rotterdammers did have to wait until the second half to score their goals, but in the end two strikes by Shinji Ono and a fine finish by Anthony Lurling handed the visitors all the points. Interestingly, Chong-Gug Song was dropped, as Gill Swerts lined up alongside Ferne Snoyl in defence.

Feyenoord found it hard to get the motor running in the opening stages, especially farther up the pitch. The long ball was certainly overused, and inadequate to boot, considering the limited height of both Buffel and Ono against Zwolle giant Yobo. The lack of self-belief led to a first half characterised by a lack of serious opportunities. Unsurprisingly, Feyenoord’s best effort came from a dead ball situation, when Van den Berg got his head to Ono’s corner in the seventeenth minute. There was little more to cheer the travelling fans in the first forty-five, save a long-range poke or two by Van Persie, and with Zwolle equally blunt in attack the half slid towards its goalless end. Promes did threaten when he got the better of Van den Berg and De Nooijer, but Zoetebier was more than up to the challenge and the half did indeed end with the score at nil-nil. The second started in similar fashion and only came to life when Shinji Ono showed a bit of magic. Van Wonderen sent in a fine cross from the right, and the Japanese redirected the ball between the posts to put Feyenoord a goal to the good ten minutes in. The goal didn’t really see the Rootterdammers move into a higher gear as Van Marwijk might have hoped, and the coach swapped Van Persie for Lurling to see if he could add a few more revs to the midfield. Van Persie had scarcely taken his seat in the dug out when Lurling doubled the lead with an excellent piece of skill that ended in a goal. And Feyenoord made it three before the end. This time, Buffel and Kuyt combined to set up Ono, who netted his second of the afternoon. FC Zwolle-Feyenoord 0-3 (0-0) 52’ 0-1 Ono 68’ 0-2 Lurling 70’ 0-3 Ono Feyenoord: Zoetebier; Swers, Van den Berg, De Nooijer, Snoijl; Buffel, Van Wonderen, Acuña (77’ Lazovic), Van Persie (67’ Lurling); Ono, Kuyt. FC Zwolle: Van der Werff; Ravensbergen, Yobo, Roelofsen, Van der Haar; Promes, Takak, Karlsen, Lim-Duen (76’ Bosschaart); Van Dinteren (68’ Cvetkov), Hristov. Referee: M. Koopman Yellows: Van den Berg, Acuña, Ono
Feyenoord Business CLub