There was little to cheer Sunday as Feyenoord played out a lacklustre goalless draw against Willem II to wrap up the domestic season in Tilburg. Fielding a young side ahead of Wednesday’s big game, Van Marwijk saw his players unable to make any sort of dint in the home defence. Paul Bosvelt was one of the few players to retain his place in the visitors’ side along with Tomasz Rzasa. Both came through the game without complications.

The all-new Feyenoord team contained a vast number of reserves. Keeper Timmer headed a defence that also included De Haan and Sprockel and the Russian Igor Korneev was given ninety minutes in his last ever league game for Feyenoord. Johan Elmander was frontman, with Leonardo and Leonardo Dos Santos on the flanks. The visitors started with enthusiasm and crafted two opportunities: a shot from Bosvelt that rasped over and a free kick from Korneev that lacked power. Otherwise there was little to get wound up about and the fans from Rotterdam amused themselves with chants as the twenty-two men on the pitch did the bookkeeping adding one to 33 to make 34. Willem II did go close after twenty minutes or so when Shoukov and Sektioui both tried their luck in quick succession but to no avail. Another ten minutes had been counted down by the time Caluwé chanced his arm, but Timmer was equal to the task. As the game wore on it became apparent that Feyenoord had neither the will nor the skill to threaten the home side’s goal and the teams wandered in at the break deadlocked. At the start of the final forty-five of the league campaign Rzasa and Bosvelt did not appear and their places were taken by Mauricio Aros and Said Boutahar respectively. The new blood had little impact on the game however, although Caluwé did have a chance to break the stalemate on behalf of Willem II but wasted it. So despite the audible dissatisfaction of the travelling fans, Feyenoord wound up their Eredivisie season with a goalless draw. Willem II-Feyenoord 0-0 (0-0) Willem II: De Vlieger; Jaliens (57’ Meeuwis), Van Nieuwstadt, J. Mathijsen, Mariana; D. Mathijssen (81’ Veldeman), Caluwé, Landzaat; Sektioui, Shoukov, Bombarda (85’ Van Beelen) Feyenoord: Timmer; Gyan (70’ Collen), De Haan, Sprockel, Rzasa (46’ Aros); Dos Santos, Bosvelt (46’ Boutahar), Emerton, Leonardo; Korneev, Elmander. Referee: H. van Dijk
Feyenoord Business CLub